Ginger Citrus Drumsticks (AIP, LowFODMAP, Paleo, 21dsd)

Today was a great day overall. I got up around 5am to feed the hungry beast, aka our kitten Murph, who as you can see from the pic below, looks like he could be part leopard!

IMG_9757

After a fun warm up of cleaning the snow off of my car I headed east to meet my mom at the barn to ride my horse. It’s always a good day when I can hang out with my mom and play with my horse while getting some fresh air! From there I went up to CF Home Base in Canton to participate in Nikita’s olympic weightlifting seminar. Note to anyone that is interested in getting better at Olympic lifting: if you EVER have a chance to lift or simply watch Nikita, do it!! He is an outstanding coach and I learn so much every time I lift with him. Today’s seminar was light and technique based, which was perfect for me as a refresher since I haven’t been lifting due to a pulled muscle in my back. I was pleasantly surprised that I felt pretty good with the exception of the front rack position… a few more weeks of recovery and I will be back at it.

From there I headed back west after stopping at whole foods to grab some ingredients for tonight’s dinner. I usually go for whatever good quality meat is on sale, but there wasn’t much that fell into that category today so I went with chicken drumsticks which I haven’t had in a while.

When most people think of chicken “wings” they often think of a crispy fried wing tossed in a thick BBQ or buffalo sauce. While I have made a delicious AIP BBQ sauce before, I wanted to try something new tonight.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3lbs. chicken drumsticks
  • Juice + zest of 1 lime (or half a lemon)
  • Juice of 1 orange
  • 2 TB. coconut oil
  • 2 TB. coconut aminos
  • 3 TB. water
  • 1 TB. minced ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 2 tsp. cilantro

Instructions:

-Blend together all ingredients except the chicken and cilantro

-Add marinade to chicken wings in a large bag or bowl, then add cilantro. Mix well and let soak in the fridge for at least 30 minutes

-Heat oven to 400 degrees

-Line a rimmed baking sheet with tin foil and put a wire rack on top

-Place drumsticks on the rack and bake for 40min, flipping halfway

-Switch the oven to broil and and continue cooking for 4-6min until crispy, turning to get all sides

-Enjoy!

The setup and the finished product, paired with some balsamic brussels and sweet potato fries

IMG_9761IMG_9775

Leave a Reply

