Banana Bread Bars (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

Often times its hard to stay on a “diet” when you don’t get to have things that you have grown accustomed to having on a daily basis. Although I believe that Paleo is a lifestyle and should be treated that way, I know a lot of people that use it more as a diet and thats okay, to each his own!

As I have been on my super-strict AIP and Low FODMAP diet (I will call it a diet because I hope to be able to re-incorporate many paleo foods that are currently restricted once my gut has healed) I have missed having a treat now and again. So I set out on a mission to create something that I was able to eat that was egg-free, nut-free, sugar-free and etc. So I did some searching around and found this recipe for AIP banana bread on the “He won’t know its Paleo” blog and my problems were solved! I followed the recipe but left out the honey because I can’t have it, and in my opinion the banana is sweet enough!

IMG_8687

I also made the recipe using tapioca flour instead of arrowroot and it comes out pretty similar. I did recently read that tapioca can sometimes be mistaken for gluten in the gut, so if you are doing strict AIP like I am the arrowroot is likely a better option. Also if the dough seems to be too dry then you can add in a TB or two of unsweetened applesauce (if you aren’t worried about FODMAPs) or water. The dough will generally be on the thicker side but it should’t be stiff as a board 🙂

Once I make a batch of these delicious non-sweet treats I usually cut them into squares and individually wrap them and throw them in the freezer. That way when I am on the run I can easily grab one as a snack or defrost one for a treat after dinner. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! Check out http://hewontknowitspaleo.com/category/blog-news/ for more great AIP recipes!

Leave a Reply

