Short Rib Burgers (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

Today has been a great day all around. I started off the morning training one of my clients in Northampton. He is improving so much every time I work with him and his motivation and excitement are contagious. From there I went down to CFIW to tackle the open workout 15.1 & 15.1a. For those of you that don’t follow crossfit, this week was the first week of the worldwide open competition which is a qualifier for the regional competition and subsequently the Crossfit Games. If you have been following my blog you already know that I have been recovering from a pulled muscle in my back and reoccurring nerve pain in my neck. With that being said it has been pretty hard for me to come to terms with the fact that I might just have to do all of the open workouts scaled, even though I know I could do them RX’d (as prescribed).

I went into the workout with pretty low expectations because I wasn’t sure how I would feel after not having done a workout in a few weeks, or lifted, or done anything besides squats for that matter! I also just finished an intense week of the Smolov Squat program (4 days of high volume at 75-87%) so I would normally have been pretty fried, but surprisingly I was feeling good. I finished the scaled workout with 238 reps of the first part and hit my max clean & jerk of 125#. Boy do I miss WODs and lifting!

After going through mental ups and downs all week wondering if my legs would hold up to all of the squats, wondering how my body would feel by today, and getting past my desire to do the opens RX’d, I feel humbled. Compared to the last time I did this same squat program I feel MUCH stronger and more capable. My body is finally absorbing nutrients, my energy levels after working 8-10 hours on my feet and then heavy lifting are still sustainable and I am able to wake up and repeat the process day after day. This is a HUGE change from a year- or even a few months ago. Even though my body isn’t in perfect health yet, I can feel that it’s getting there and healing more every day. I am looking forward to seeing how much improvement I can make next year and hope that I can prove myself in the RX division of the opens then. Setting my goals now! 🙂

In other news: we had these burgers for dinner last night and they were amazing!

I made my weekly trip to our local butcher shop on Thursday to grab some local grass-fed marrow bones, and these burgers caught my eye. Short-rib is one of those things that I haven’t experimented with much because it’s on the expensive side so I figured a burger would make the perfect first recipe! The only downside was that our grill is still buried in several feet of snow/ice. But not to worry- if you have an oven and a cast-iron skillet you can still make some juicy burgers!

Here’s How:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-Place cast iron skillet on the stove over medium-high heat

-When skillet is hot sear the burgers for 3-4 minutes on each side

-Once seared, place the whole skillet with burgers into the oven and bake for 6-10 minutes depending on what temperature you prefer them

-Make sure you cook multiple burgers because one is never enough!

IMG_9878

IMG_9880

I chose to not season my burgers because I wanted to see how they taste and let me tell you- I don’t think they even need seasoning! I topped them with some spinach sautéed in coconut oil and coconut aminos and used pan fried sweet potato rounds as my buns! To make the sweet potato buns simply cut a thick sweet potato into 1/4 inch rounds and fry them in coconut oil over medium-high heat for about 6-10 minutes per side, or until fork tender.

The finished product: (does’t include me kicking myself for only getting two burgers! Waaahh!!)

IMG_9889

A side note: you can make these burgers yourself if you have a meat grinder! If you don’t, you can simply go over to your local butcher and if they have short-rib in stock you can ask them to grind it up and make patties for you! Sutter Meats in Northampton has amazing customer service if your are in the Western Mass area!

Leave a Reply

