Orange Chicken Meatballs (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

The hard part of my week is officially over, I finished the Smolov Jr. squat program today and will be testing my back squat next week to see how I have improved. Honestly if I hit my max of 205 again with better form I will be happy with that! The only thing I have left this week is the opens WOD tomorrow. Chest to bar pull-ups and overhead squats… I actually really like the format of the workout but those movements are still pretty questionable for my almost-healed back and pinched nerve that affects my right trap (especially overhead). So, here I am again stuck between the fact that I know I can do the workout RX’d but not sure if thats the best choice for my physical health at this point in time. I plan on trying to mash the crap out of my traps tonight and hope to be feeling good in the morning.

Anyways, I got a bunch of ground dark meat local chicken at the coop the other day and wanted to take another shot at making orange-glazed chicken so here it goes!

Ingredients:


For the Meatballs:

  • 2 lbs. ground chicken
  • 1/2 cup scallions, finely chopped
  • 1 TB. arrowroot
  • 1 1/2 tsp. orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. turmeric

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-In a large bowl combine all of the above ingredients and mix well

-Form meat mixture into 2 inch balls and place on a parchment lined rimmed baking sheet

-Bake for 30 minutes, turning halfway

IMG_0058

IMG_0059


For the Orange Glaze:

  • Juice of 2 oranges
  • 2 tsp. ginger, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 1 TB. apple cigar vinegar
  • 1 tsp. arrowroot

Instructions:

-In a large bowl combine the orange juice, coconut aminos, ginger and vinegar

-Bring liquid to a low boil then simmer for 5 minutes

-While whisking continuously, slowly add the arrowroot until sauce reaches desired consistancy (this is important to do slowly or else the arrowroot will clump and the sauce will not thicken!)

-When meatballs are done, toss them in this delicious sauce and serve!

IMG_0067

Leave a Reply

