Chicken Garden Burgers (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

This week has been a long one for me but overall I feel pretty good and am looking forward to having a day off tomorrow to catch up on life and relax… well, after I do the Opens WOD, that is! More talk on that tomorrow after I do the workout.

IMG_0126

15.2 Chest to Bars

I met up with my naturopathic doctor this week to talk about my health progress so far and to formulate a plan going forward. The good news is that I can start reincorporating things back into my diet (YAY)! The bad news is that doesn’t include coffee… yet. Not that I need coffee to function, I have actually had quite a bit of energy with no caffeine for quite some time now, but I just generally love coffee. Anyways, I am excited to be on the greener side of my healing process and hope that I can maintain my health and continue to improve. I am still waiting on my lab results to see just how far I have “reversed” my autoimmune disease but seeing as my psoriasis is FINALLY starting to go away (after YEARS and YEARS of torture!) I believe the results will be good. Fingers crossed.

Anyways, I had planned to make some turkey burgers for dinner tonight but I ended up accidentally defrosting ground chicken instead so here is my spur of the moment chicken garden burger recipe that came out quite nicely!

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb. ground dark meat chicken
  • 1/4 cup shredded jicama
  • 1 cup finely chopped spinach
  • 1 tsp. finely chopped rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-In a large mixing bowl combine all ingredients

-Form into 7-8 burger patties

IMG_0225

-Heat a cast iron skillet to medium-high heat

-Sear burgers for about 5 minutes per side

IMG_0234

-Then transfer the whole skillet to the oven and bake for 8 minutes or until no pink remains

-Enjoy!

IMG_0236

Notes: you can certainly grill these if you would like, but they are more delicate than beef and turkey so I would make sure to oil the grill to ensure that you don’t lose some burger when flipping them! I served them with parsnip buns. To make these I simply cut a (giant) parsnip into 1/4 inch slices and pan fried them in bacon fat until they were soft.

Leave a Reply

