PBLT Burgers (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

This week is panning out to be a long one! It’s only tuesday and I’m feeling a little run-down already, luckily I have the day off tomorrow and hope to get some relaxing in between baking, errands, vet visits and the gym. I’ve started to work my way slowly back into lifting and doing some controlled WOD’s on a more regular basis and it seems to be going well! My back is completely healed now and my shoulder hasn’t been getting the shooting-intense pain that it was before, just resting annoying dull pain… I know that doesn’t sound good either but it’s what I’ve been dealing with on and off for over a year now. Between chiropractic, electric stim, low level laser therapy, massage and now also acupuncture, its GOT to get better! Please??

Anyways, I made this recipe about a week ago while I was i the midst of perfecting my pork belly recipe. At Jake’s we have a “Spicy PBLT” with pork belly, lettuce and tomato. Seeing as nightshades are a group of foods that I likely will ever be able to reincorporate into my diet, I thought I would come up with my own version of a “PBLT”. So, the Pork Belly, Lettuce and Turkey Burger was born! This has got to be the best turkey burger I have ever had… I hope you enjoy it as well!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 lb. pork belly
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup scallions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup jicama, peeled and shredded
  • 1 tsp. rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Instructions:

-Follow my recipe below for crispy pork belly, after braising the pork belly and letting it cool in the fridge, cut into desired sized pieces, cut off the skin and pan sear the pork belly until the fat has rendered off. This should take about 15 minutes so plan accordingly!

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-In a large bowl combine the ground turkey, scallions, jicama, rosemary, turmeric and sea salt. Mix with hands to incorporate and then separate into three 1/3lb. patties.

-In a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat sear the turkey patties for 5 minutes per side.

IMG_0020

-Place the skillet with burgers into the oven and bake for 5-10 minutes until no pink remains in the center

-Remove from oven and garnish with a large slab of pork belly, and some sautéed spinach. If your feeling up for it add a sweet potato bun or wrap in a large leaf of lettuce.

IMG_0026

IMG_0036

Enjoy!

Notes: These burgers can also be cooked on the grill… mine just didn’t happen to be accessible at the time!

Leave a Reply

