Healing Bone Broth Latte (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

This week I feel like I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off. Thankfully I wrote myself a handy list of all the things I need to accomplish and exactly when they need to be done by, or else I would be a mess! Today was another one of my days off- it sure seems like I have a lot of those seeing as I usually write a blog post when I get a day off! And by day off I mean: I baked most of the day. For those of you that haven’t read my background information, I started a paleo baked goods business (Primal Treats and Eats) and although it’s more of a hobby than a business it tends to occupy much of my spare time, and I’m okay with that! Between all the hustle and bustle today I got to get some workout therapy at CFIW. I did a fun WOD today that was 10 RTF of 3 squat cleans at 100# and 9 ring dips. I planned on going heavier with the squat cleans but had to remind myself that slowly getting back into lifting is a much smarter approach if I want to stay healthy and keep my shoulder happy. I often find that whenever I get myself into a situation where I feel overwhelmed or unsure of things, out of the blue I will stumble upon something that reinstates my purpose and keeps me on track.

Although I am not where I think I could be in terms of my overall fitness and strength, I have learned a lot about myself and my body this past year. I got this gem of a photo sent to me today by my lovely friend Maura who has been snapping awesome pictures of everyone throughout the opens workouts and inspiring us with her spirit and endless support. After sending it she said “You are motivation!” and I couldn’t have been more flattered. On top of that the quote really resonates with me as I have been fighting an uphill battle with trying to reverse my autoimmune diseases. There were quite a few times where I had to remind myself that staying on track with the hundreds of dietary restrictions and saying no to eating foods made by anyone but myself was the only option.

IMG_0369

After my baking marathon today I got to clear my head with a crisp, windy hike up Mount Tom with my friend Josh. Its amazing what some fresh air can do for you! I am looking forward to spring when I can include some sort of outdoor activity into my daily routine again.

IMG_0350


If your wondering how the heck you can make bone broth into a deliciously creamy and healthy latte, keep reading. 🙂

Most of you know that I drink bone broth every day, up to 3 times a day. It’s a staple in my life and I don’t enjoy living without it! I have made many variations of broth, some with root veggies, some with onions, others just garlic, there is much room to experiment and find what you personally like the best. I have to say that the recipe that I posted is pretty plain, and my personal favorite because you can “dress it up” and make some fantastic cocktails out of it.

Who would have ever thought to use the word cocktail when it comes to bone broth… but seriously, try the recipe below and you will see what I’m talking about!

Ingredients:

Instructions:

-Heat bone broth in a small pot on the stove

-Place coconut oil and coconut milk in a large coffee mug

-Add bone broth to the coffee mug and allow the coconut oil to melt

-Then add baking soda, cinnamon and ginger and blend using a frother (or blender)

IMG_0357

IMG_0360

-Enjoy your “bulletproof” broth latte!

IMG_0362

*Why baking soda,? check out this article!

Leave a Reply

