Toasted Coconut Plantain Pancakes (Paleo, AIP)

I have to say that pretty much the entire time (we’re talking several months) that I was following the strict Autoimmune diet, I was dying for pancakes. It’s funny because even before I started the AI protocol I would only make paleo pancakes every once in a blue moon. I think it was mostly because of the fact that I attempted to make a few different versions of egg-free AIP pancakes and they all failed miserably. Of course now that I am allowed to incorporate more foods back into my diet, I find that I still stick to eating mostly AIP, with the exception of natural sweeteners or a bite of dark chocolate once in a while. Eating AIP just simply makes me feel better.

I am still experimenting with eggs to see if I can (ever) actually reincorporate them into my diet. The more I read and hear through other people’s experiences the more I find that eggs tend to be a common irritant. So for now, I have finally made one AIP pancake recipe that works! I plan on using some other flours and starches to work on some more recipes as well. These are definitely tasty but not “pancake-texture”, so if that’s what your looking for you might want to try someone else’s recipe, for now.


Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe (black) plantains
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut (plus a little more for topping!)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 2 TB coconut oil
  • 1-2 TB full-fat coconut cream
  • Dash of vanilla extract

Instructions:

-In a 300 degree oven, toast the shredded coconut on a baking pan for 4-5 minutes, flipping regularly so the coconut doesn’t burn. Toast until golden brown.

-Preheat a large skillet to medium-high head and add 1 TB. coconut oil to the skillet.

-In a large mixing bowl, mash the plantain with the toasted coconut, cinnamon and allspice until no large chunks remain (there will likely still be some small ones).

IMG_1052

-Once the skillet is hot add 1/4 cup of the plantain mixture to the pan, using the bottom of a spoon to mold the mixture into a thin circle (about 1/4 inch thick)

IMG_1054

-Cook for 2-3 minutes per side then move to another plate to cool for 2 minutes.

IMG_1055

-While the pancakes are cooling whip up the coconut cream with the vanilla and toss onto pancakes. Garnish with some more toasted coconut and enjoy!

IMG_1067

Notes: You can find coconut cream in canned full-fat coconut milk. The cream usually separates from the water. Another option is to buy this brand of coconut “milk” which is essentially just the cream.

Leave a comment