Blueberry Gummies (Paleo, AIP, LowFODMAP, 21DSD)

I apologize for being so behind in my blog posts lately! I have had to put more time into reducing my stress levels again lately as they tend to creep up when I over-commit myself to things. Once again I like to think that I can “do it all” and I sure can, but it comes with a cost which is usually a decline in my health. Anyways, I won’t bore you with details from my fitness updates today but overall things are going well. I have a slight stability problem in my right knee/ankle that is causing some inflammation in my knee but I am actively working on figuring that out, I will likely head back to my friends at ProEX Physical Therapy to strengthen that issue. In the mean time my lifting is going quite well and I have been making progress everyday! No complaints there.

In the Primal Treats and Eats realm I have been baking away for Mother’s Day! I had some mini-cake specials going on so that people could treat themselves as well as the mothers in their lives! I unfortunately will not be seeing my mother or my family this weekend because I will be working on Mother’s Day, but I did of course bake my mom something special and will celebrate with her the following weekend.

  
Mini cakes! 

Another positive note is that the weather in New England has been amazing!! I think we deserve it after that harsh winter… I got to enjoy it a little yesterday while hiking. 😊

  
Views from the top of the Notch in Amherst.

Now for the gummies!

This is a great recipe that is super easy to make. After listening to the Glowing Skin Summit I got a swift reminder of the importance of gelatin, collagen, antioxidants, vitamin C, and many other nutrients that support skin health. Skin is the largest organ in the body and it has internal and external components. Skin serves to protect the body from external elements: it lets things that we need in such as sunlight to create vitamin D, and keeps out the toxins. Although in modern times the world we live in is a very toxic one. Our skin is exposed to chemicals and toxins throughout the day in our skincare products, shampoos, soaps, perfume, deodorants, detergents, and even in the air and water supply. It’s more important than ever to take a loot at your products and the ingredients in them and try your best to detoxify your life from these harmful agents. This may surprise you but all of these products can be made pretty simply! More info on that to come as I learn for myself how to create my own household cleaning products and find the best chemical and toxin free skincare products. For now I can share that Dr. Bronner makes a great multipurpose soap. Himalayan sea salt soap is all you need to clean and exfoliate the skin. And last but not least Dragonfly Traditions has amazing natural skin care products! 

Ok, now I’ll really get to the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic berries (I used blueberries)
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 4 TB Great Lakes Beef gelatin
  • 1-2 TB coconut water (optional)
  • 1-2 TB local raw honey (optional)

Instructions:

-Add blueberries, lemon juice, coconut water and honey to a saucepan over medium heat

  
-Cook, stirring occasionally, until blueberries have deflated and let the mixture is mostly liquid

  
-Let cool for 1-2 minutes then add berry mixture to a blender with gelatin and blend unit smooth

-Pour gelatin mixture into candy molds or into a glass pan

  
-Pop in the fridge for an hour to solidify

-Cut into preferred shape and size and enjoy one or a few daily!

  

Leave a Reply

